THE IRON PEN by Daniel Hite

May 28, 2010

Coming Home

Filed under: Pro-family — danielhite @ 5:34 am
Tags: , ,

My 21 year old son is coming home after a seven month job/internship in Pennsylvania.  My heart leaps at this event.  That’s the parent in me, I’m sure.

I was not good at coming home.  In fact, when I left home for college, for all intents and purposes I really never looked back. Home was a form of personal support. But now, nearly 40 years later, I have come to realize that home is much more than just that.  There is something to be said about home being where the heart is.  Home is a place not only of support, but of rest, protection, love, understanding, consideration, contentment, peace and harmony.  My father passed just before my 18th birthday, my mother just six years ago.  With all my brothers scattered, that home is just a memory.  But thanks to my dear wife, her family, friends, loved ones, and a new hometown for the past 30 years or so, home is a reality once more.  God has blessed me with all that.  And now Ryan is coming home.  If he would not have gone away, this would not have the same impact.

I could hear it in my son’s voice–he was ready to come home.  And that made me feel good.  I  know his return is temporary, but I also know there is no place just like home.  As a young child of nine, I gave my heart to Jesus and discovered that settledness and contentment of a relationship with my Heavenly Father.  It was like coming home. When God calls “time” on this old earth, I believe we will understand home in a totally different way–I think we will finally be home, in our forever home.  Until then, I think it’s  wise to focus on home–to protect and nurture it–and endeavor to make it a little heaven on earth, until we are finally there–home at last.

1 Comment »

  1. Friday, May 28, 2010

    Dear Dan Hite:

    Good morning.

    Thank you for that intimate article concerning “home” and what it truly means.

    Yes, we agree. Home, as well as family, must be protected and nurtured, for God most assuredly designed “home” to be like a little embassy in His Kingdom.

    Enjoy a nice weekend … at home!

    Sincerely,

    the Williams Family

    Comment by the Williams Family — May 28, 2010 @ 8:16 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

