THE IRON PEN by Daniel Hite

April 16, 2012

HB 1719 – Misunderstanding and Misrepresenting the Constitution

I just emailed my state rep and all the committee members voting for this ridiculous bill:

“I am vehemently opposed to the National Popular Vote and to this bill, HB 1719, before you. Our founding fathers devised the Electoral College to move away from a popular vote, keep it representational, and reflect the broader view of voters allowing for a fairer representation of states. And now you want to change all that in the name of “updating” and reforming the system. It is high time we RETURN to the genius of our original Constitutional plan and do some electoral education rather than reformation. Please, please, please do NOT bring this to a vote. We need the electoral college to preserve some voting sense from a basically uninformed electorate. Could it be that the populace does not understand it because our representatives do not understand it? I am sorry if this sounds harsh but it is time for us to wake up and stand up for what is right, not what is just popular and expedient.”

If you are interested in writing them, here are their email addresses:
Tony.Dugger@house.mo.gov, Sue.Entlicher@house.mo.gov, Mike.Cierpiot@house.mo.gov, Pat.Conway@house.mo.gov, Stanley.Cox@house.mo.gov, Joe.FallertJr@house.mo.gov, Don.Gosen@house.mo.gov, Myron.Neth@house.mo.gov, Stacey.Newman@house.mo.gov, Don.Wells@house.mo.gov

Advertisements

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: