THE IRON PEN by Daniel Hite

May 5, 2014

Public Prayer is NOT Coercive

Filed under: Prayer,Supreme Court — danielhite @ 2:46 pm
Tags: ,

I have been in many public and private meetings that were opened with prayer. No one has ever coerced me to pray. It is my choice to pray or not to pray. Listening to another pray, whether it is of my faith or not, is not a matter of coercion, it is a matter of respect for that person’s right to express themselves. That right of religious expression is supposed to be sacred in America. When I have been asked to pray in a meeting, I don’t expect everyone to join in, but I do expect them to respect the right of the one expressing himself to God. When I pray, I pray in Jesus’ Name. I don’t require everyone to do that, I will offer my prayer in a way that I believe is acceptable to my God. I am sorry if someone else may not agree with the content of my prayer, but I’m not talking to them anyway. I am not asking for their approval, but I am asking for their general respect and accommodation. Apparently, almost half of the Supreme Court doesn’t believe what I have written here. It’s like America isn’t quite herself anymore; She’s forgotten who she is.

http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2014/05/05/supreme-court-government-prayer-new-york/4481969/

1 Comment »

  1. Tuesday in Upstate Illinois, May 6, 2014
    Dear D.F. Hite:
    Thank you, again, for such inspiring information to encourage folks!
    So, we can “walk in those good works that God has set before us,
    that others might see these wondrous things, and thus glorify our
    Father in Heaven.”
    Sincerely,
    the Williams Family

    Comment by Bud and Nancy — May 6, 2014 @ 8:27 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

